Jan 22: Update on my Workouts

I’m still considering the idea of focusing on the DIY at home kinda workout and gym or getting the gym membership. I feel like I shouldn’t get the membership unless I am really committed to follow through for the whole year, and I researched some of the gear this week and maaaan some of the things are crazy expensive. Weighed vest was about $180+, couldn’t find an Olympic Barbell (aparently no one sells those to individuals here in Panama), Kettlebells were about $2/Lb and dumbells about $1.5/Lb which would make them too expensive to get a pair considering you can only do a few things. Getting any piece of equipment basically would come out to way more than paying the monthly $50. So in a way DIY or paying for membership is the only way. I haven’t made the plyo box yet. I’ve been focusing on getting started with school on the right foot and just being consistent with the workouts.

On that note, today’s work out went a little bit like this:

  • Stretching (Chest, Back, Quads, Glutes)
  • 11 min jump rope (I had no jump rope so the motions had to do)
  • 3 x 10 burpees (These sound easy but I have a really hard time doing them)
  • 3 x 1 minute of Pilates bridge while alternating leg extension
  • 3 x 15 crunches with 8lb Medicine Ball
  • 3 x 20 Front chops with 8lb Medicine Ball (I need a heavier weight for this)
  • 10 x 40 yard dash

Cristina joined me during the workout, I think she enjoys the pain more than I do. She seems to want it more than I do. I wish my energy was as high as hers, that would be nice. I like feeling like I’m helping her get there by serving as her motivator! The workout wasn’t too grueling. I think it could be worse (better). I definitely feel it in my legs, mainly quads and glutes. The burpees are insanely hard for me. I can do them, but when I’m done I’m breathing sooo heavy.

Well that was it for the day. After the workout we went for Sushi; That’s probably cheating, but it was freaking delicious. I should really save more money. Oh well.. I guess this is a moment where other people would say YOLO.

Hope you guys had a great day. I will go ahead an read a few minutes of Silent Justice to unwind the brain before I go to sleep. Let’s Grow.

Leave a Reply

