Making your own Plyo Box?

So I am determined to start working out a lot more than I ever have this year. On the other hand I don’t want to spend tons of cash investing in a gym membership. Memberships have their benefits, which I could write a post about later; I think I rather spend the same money on stocking up my home with my own workout equipment. The benefit I’m interested in? I can work out whenever I feel like and my gym opens 24/7.

Now there are no excuses! Get out there and run!

Now there are no excuses! Get out there and run!

A gym membership in Panama is considered a luxury expense and is around $50+/month. The minimum wage is around $440 give or take, that sucks. So what I will do is instead of the membership I will try to spend roughly $50 monthly on equipment to use at home. I got the running shoes for Christmas, and I’m currently working on building a plyo box, afterwards I will be looking into getting an Olympic bar and getting weights for it.

So let’s go ahead to what I made the post about. More or less what I found out online from different box builds and instructions is that the slant of each face of the box is around 10 degrees. I have pretty big feet so I will make the landing platform 22 in sq. for the smallest surface area. I plan to make two boxes:

  • 3 in 1 (meaning it has three different heights depending what side you rest it on) 20 x 26 x 32 in.
  • A 26 in. tall slant-faced plyo box.

Each one can be made by purchasing a 4′ x 8′ x 3/4″ plywood slab which costs around $29.95. After I finish building it I will edit the post to list specific materials and prices. So far I played around with Google Sketchup to see more or less what it would look like and if it would fit in a sheet of plywood. I think as of right now it’s coming along rather decently and I am excited to see it as a finished product.

PlyoBox

I couldn’t post the SketchUp file so I just put up a screenshot for your enjoyment. Let me know in the comments if you would like me to send you the file, mind you I’m not an expert on this program I was just seeing if the measurements I envisioned checked out. 

Leave a Reply

